Letters to the Editor

Wed 13 Feb 2019

OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

premium_icon OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

OPINION: While I am horrified at this being filmed and others just watching, I think that this behaviour is a symptom of the home life some of them have.

Mon 11 Feb 2019

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Buy a prestige SUV that never goes off-road — or get a luxe wagon that looks equally classy at the golf club

Sun 10 Feb 2019

Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

premium_icon Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

This organisation solved many crimes and was a respected and viable asset to our under-manned police service.

Fri 25 Jan 2019

Bin-divers trashing our neighbourbood

premium_icon Bin-divers trashing our neighbourbood

Read QT's letter of the week

Thu 17 Jan 2019

Best way to deal with worry

premium_icon Best way to deal with worry

It has recently been acknowledged that “worry” is essential, however what shall we do with it?

Tue 15 Jan 2019

Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

premium_icon Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

Liberal Democrat Senator comes out swinging at Gympie Times columnist Colin Claridge, who he says does not know him, nor understand the electoral system

Mon 14 Jan 2019

It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

premium_icon It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

'It’s now time for the northern cyclone wasted waters to be turned west. It will cost, but will pay off for ever as large areas of drought prone Western land.'

'I'd become completely obsessed': Why resident quit Facebook

premium_icon 'I'd become completely obsessed': Why resident quit Facebook

'Then one day I woke up and realised I had a serious problem.'

Wed 9 Jan 2019

Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded a racist

premium_icon Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded a racist

I agree Nazi salutes aren’t the best way to go, but Senator Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded racist for wanting effective Australian border protection.

Mon 7 Jan 2019

Summer flu numbers hit five year high

premium_icon Summer flu numbers hit five year high

"We must remain vigilant during 2019 because, as we've seen in the past, flu can occur at any time of the year and every flu season can be different”

Mon 24 Dec 2018

Plainland development must not go ahead at this time

premium_icon Plainland development must not go ahead at this time

"A hold must be applied to these projects until a sewerage line is constructed."

Thu 20 Dec 2018

Bluesfest paid parking fury: 'We want a refund'

premium_icon Bluesfest paid parking fury: 'We want a refund'

LOYAL punters are seeking advice from NSW Fair Trading after Bluesfest's controversial decision to introduce paid parking at next year's event.

Wed 19 Dec 2018

Plenty of talent to lead Ipswich forward

premium_icon Plenty of talent to lead Ipswich forward

We need qualified appointees to serve our new beginning in 2020

Mon 17 Dec 2018

'Respect, affection': Daughter's tribute to aged care staff

premium_icon 'Respect, affection': Daughter's tribute to aged care staff

I consider myself to be a hard worker, compassionate and caring, yet my admiration sits very solidly with these staff members.

Sun 16 Dec 2018

OPINION: Excited about trash for cash swap

premium_icon OPINION: Excited about trash for cash swap

Making money from your every day rubbish

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Cats are 'huge health concern' for humans

premium_icon Cats are 'huge health concern' for humans

FREE roaming cats are of a huge health concern to many individuals (up to 10% of the human population) and they are disgusting vectors for disease.

Fri 14 Dec 2018

Climate change denialists 'cherry pick evidence'

premium_icon Climate change denialists 'cherry pick evidence'

ANDREW Bolt’s latest tirade (TC, 3/12) needs to be challenged.

Thu 13 Dec 2018

ADANI: Mayor says mining firm given raw deal

premium_icon ADANI: Mayor says mining firm given raw deal

Mining company Adani have been caught in the crosshairs of a bitter, at times ugly but very important debate, says Rockhampton mayor Margaret Strelow.

Tue 11 Dec 2018

LETTERS: Car insurance cost a shocker

LETTERS: Car insurance cost a shocker

"RECENTLY my car insurance renewal arrived in the mail. I nearly choked on my morning cuppa when I saw the premium.”

An ode to Bill Shorten

premium_icon An ode to Bill Shorten

"ONE must admire Bill, with his perch on the window sill. Tis an open and shut case he does aspire and quiet as a mouse if you will."

Newer Older