Paul Dolan
Paul Dolan Warren Lynam

World's richest race: Bid to join Cup legend

TONY Zammit is a legend among greyhound trainers.

When based at Ormeau near Beenleigh, Zammit had a large team in work.

Nowadays his numbers are much smaller, being in virtual semi retirement on the northern end of the Gold Coast but still training up to five greyhounds.

Among Zammit's many great achievements is being the only trainer to win the Vince Curry Memorial Maiden at Ipswich more than once. He scored with Reliability in 1996 and Runaway Sally in 2004.

Tomorrow night at the Ipswich Showgrounds, Chris Riordon will attempt to join Zammit as a dual winner of what is now the richest maiden race for greyhounds in the world.

First prize is $40,250.

The former harness racing trainer and driver won the race last year with Fire to Rain who drew box one.

Fire to Rain is by Fabregas out of Spirited Flame.

Riordon trained Spirited Flame for 27 race wins.

His runner tomorrow night, Bitter Delight, has box one. She is by Kinloch Brae out of Spirited Flame.

Kinloch Brae is an American bred dog who raced there and later stood at stud in Ireland.

Each runner in tomorrow's final has contested a heat and semi-final.

Not many go through the three nights of the series undefeated.

Bitter Delight has finished second in the first two rounds, both occasions drawing box two.

While likely to be at generous each way odds, a win isn't out of the question.

Bitter Delight has shown average early speed but is strong at the finish.

She could hug the rails for the entire race and be hard to hold out at the finish.

Unbeaten in the two first two rounds are Hara's Flame for Mike Stephenson of north Brisbane and Fernando Bonus for Evelyn Harris, who hails from Casino.

Hara's Flame has recorded 30.95 from box five and 30.70 from box three.

Fernando Bonus has been much quicker with times of 30.34 and 30.32 but both were from box one.

He has box seven for the final. Hara's Flame jumps from box four.

If successful, Fernando Bonus will be come the first New South Wales trained winner of the Vince Curry since John Finn won in 2006 with Winsome Ace.

History against favourites

RESULTS of the Vince Curry over the past 14 years reveal that it's not a good race in which to be backing the favourite.

Only three have won, one of which was a dead heat.

Of the past 14 winners, eight have been females and six males.

The year of the dead heat, 2016, it was between two bitches, Split Image and Paua to Avoid.

Tomorrow's field contains two male dogs and six females. The males are Yeah Okay and Fernando Bonus.

Boxes one, three, four and eight have each produced three winners from the past 14 runnings.

There has not been a winner from box six at all.

The first race tomorrow night is at 6.02pm, with the Vince Curry final set for 8.24pm.

Premiership winners

2017 Ipswich premiership winners will be acknowledged at tomorrow night's race meeting.

They are trainers Col Byers and Amy O'Reilly, owner Bob Essex and greyhound of the year Little Ach Cee trained by Col Byers.

Consider this

WE all know of the speed of light. What is the speed of dark?