Labor's water trigger laws apply to 47 mines and LNG

THE water trigger laws the former Labor Government brought in before the election will apply to 47 mines and coal seam gas operations across the country, after a decision by Environment Minister Greg Hunt on Thursday.

Projects sprawled across regional Queensland and New South Wales make up the bulk of the list which will have to be assessed for impacts on water resources.

Among the projects are numerous proposals for coal mining in central Queensland, including Moranbah South, Springsure Creek, Adani's Carmichael project, Hancock Coal's Kevin's Corner and Waratah Coal's Galilee project.

Coal seam gas proposals across southern Queensland will also need to be assessed under the water trigger laws, including Santos's GLNG gas project and Arrow Energy's Surat CSG project.

In New South Wales, the controversial Bulga Coal Mine, Wallarah and Moolarben projects were also on the list for assessment.

The trigger was introduced by the previous government under pressure from former MP Tony Windsor to up the ante on protection of water resources from large coal mines and CSG projects.

Earlier this week, Mr Hunt said the 50 projects had been "left in complete limbo" by the previous government, over the procedural decisions.

He said the decision came after "careful examination" of each project, saying the 47 projects would be assessed for potential impacts on water resources and matters of national environmental significance.

However, three projects on the list did not make the cut, with Mr Hunt asking for more information about two proposals, including the NSW Mount Penny project.

That project has been under a cloud since investigation by the ICAC in relation to corruption charges against former Labor MPs in the state.

One other project, the Pine Dale Coal Mine stage two extension, will not be assessed for impacts on water resources, but no reason was given for that decision.For Water Assessments:

Waratah Coal: Galilee Mine

Hancock Coal: Kevin's Corner

Adani: Carmichael Coal Mine and Rail

Anglo-American: Moranbah South

Xstrata: Newlands Coal Extension, Rolleston Open Cut extension

Cockatoo Coal: North Surat and Baralaba South

Endocoal Coal: Meteor Downs