Top players preparing for TigerTurf battles

9th February 2017 8:00 AM
Ipswich players representing Norths and Wests battle it out during a previous TigerTurf Cup competition game. Ipswich players representing Norths and Wests battle it out during a previous TigerTurf Cup competition game. Fred Husted

IPSWICH and world-class hockey players will represent teams from two states and five cities in the eighth annual TigerTurf Cup in Brisbane this month.

Promising exciting and attack focused nine-a-side hockey, the pre-season tournament will feature 14 clubs from Brisbane, Sydney, Ipswich, Gold Coast and Toowoomba. The tournament will be held at the Clem Jones Sports Complex over two consecutive weekends.

The 12-team women's competition, featuring all nine Brisbane Division 1 teams as well as sides from Gold Coast, Toowoomba and Sydney, will be held from February 18-19.

Competing teams are: Ascot, Commercial, Easts, Kedron-Wavell, Norths, QUT, St Andrews, University of Queensland, Valley (Brisbane), Burleigh (Gold Coast), Past High (Toowoomba) and Ryde Hunters Hill (Sydney).

Kedron-Wavell are the defending women's TigerTurf Cup champions.

Mikaela Patterson (Ryde Hunters Hill), Savannah Fitzpatrick (Kedron-Wavell), Bec Greiner (University of Queensland) and Rosie Malone (Commercial) all won bronze for Australia at the Junior World Cup in Chile in November. They are expected to play as are Australian Hockey League stars.

Ryde Hunters Hill, the 2015 Sydney men's Premier League champions, return to defend its men's TigerTurf Cup crown won in 2016.

The men's competition, running from February 25-26, will also feature reigning Brisbane Hockey League champions Bulimba and tournament hosts and 2016 TigerTurf Cup runner-up Easts.

Ipswich, Gold Coast sides Burleigh and Labrador, and Brisbane teams Pine Rivers St Andrews and Valley round out the eight-team men's TigerTurf Cup competition.

Competing teams are: Bulimba, Easts, Pine Rivers St Andrews, Valley (Brisbane), Burleigh, Labrador (Gold Coast), Ipswich and Ryde Hunters Hill (Sydney).

Current Australian Kookaburras players Robert Bell and Scott Boyde (Easts) and Olympic gold medal winners Troy Elder (Bulimba), Liam de Young (Pine Rivers St Andrews) and Brent Livermore (Labrador) are expected to play in the tournament.

Entry to the TigerTurf Cup, on February 18-19 and 25-26, is free. Games will be played at Easts Hockey TigerTurf at the Clem Jones Sports Complex (Stanley Road, Carina).