Tim Mander appoints new board for the RTA

The Newman Government has revamped the board of the Residential Tenancies Authority as part of its ongoing commitment to revitalising frontline services for families.

Housing Minister Tim Mander said the RTA had a strong track record but there was still room for improvement. 

"The new board will be responsible for making sure the RTA is an efficient, customer-focused organisation," he said.

"As well as providing advice and information on things like dispute resolution, maintenance and right of access, the RTA is also responsible for investing rental bonds worth three quarters of a billion dollars and safeguarding 513,000 properties worth around $160 billion."

Mr Mander said current Chair Cathy Sinclair would be re-appointed, having provided strong leadership during the ongoing review of the Residential Tenancies and Rooming Accommodation Act.

Ms Roslyn Wallace from the Property Owners Association and Ms Deborah Duffy from the REIQ will serve as industry representatives while Ms Penny Gillespie from Queensland Shelter has been appointed as a consumer representative.

Also appointed are company secretary and general counsel Jane Seawright, Port of Brisbane CFO Darryl Mutzelburg and Defence Housing Australia Director Jan Williams.

"Around a third of Queensland households rent their home, and another 13 per cent receive some investment income from rental properties, so it's vital that the rental sector gets the attention it deserves," Mr Mander said.

"I congratulate each of the board members on their appointment and I look forward to working with them in the years to come".


Ms Cathy Sinclair (Chair) has provided strong leadership of the Board in the current term. She has been a member of a number of Boards, Tribunals and Committees across a range of sectors since 1996 and has been Chair of the RTA board since April 2013.

Ms Roslyn Wallace is a co-owner of a building contracting and residential investment company. She has been a Board Director since 2004. She has also been the Secretary of the Property Owners Association of Queensland since 1997.

Ms Deborah Duffy is a Director of the Real Estate Institute of Queensland (REIQ), has more than 20 years' experience in the residential real estate industry and is a former REIQ Property Manager of the Year. She lives in Cairns.

Ms Penny Gillespie has considerable experience as a senior representative of key peak housing bodies in the State. She currently holds the position of Locum Executive Officer for Queensland Shelter and prior to this was Queensland State Director of Mission Australia. Ms Gillespie has also held a range of senior positions within the former Department of Housing.

Mr Darryl Mutzelburg is the Chief Financial Officer for the Port of Brisbane Authority and is a CPA. He has broad experience in the financial and commercial fields as well as property leasing and management. He has been an RTA Board Director since April 2013.

Ms Jan Williams is a Director of Defence Housing Australia and has a strong history in the public, private and non-profit sectors, with particular emphasis in the building industry. Her prior involvement on the board of Brisbane Housing Company has given her a strong knowledge of tenancy management issues and sustainable design.