Stars missing for Kookaburras at World League

THE Kookaburras will have to win next month's inaugural World League finals without star players Jamie Dwyer, Matthew Swann, Rob Hammond and Fergus Kavanagh.

Coach Ric Charlesworth said the team had an extremely busy schedule in 2014 and the quartet was left out as part of a workload management strategy.

Australia will have 24 players in the eight-week Hockey India League competition which starts on January 25.

The 2014 schedule also includes the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia in March, the World Cup in the Netherlands in June, the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in July/August and the Champions Trophy in India in December.

Australia is in Pool B at the World League Finals against Belgium, Argentina and the Netherlands.

The other pool features Olympic champions Germany, England, India and New Zealand.