Leader of the Opposition Lawrence Springborg
Leader of the Opposition Lawrence Springborg Brenda Strong

Seeney and Elmes dropped from shadow ministry

A KEY player in the Newman government cabinet has been dropped from new LNP leader Lawrence Springborg's recently announced shadow ministry.

Former deputy premier and state development minister Jeff Seeney did not make the frontbench, but has been appointed the LNP's parliamentary policy committee, strategy and co-ordination chairman.

Noosa MP Glen Elmes was also dropped from the cabinet.

The man behind the push for asset leases, former treasurer Clayfield MP Tim Nicholls, will be the infrastructure, planning, small business, employment and trade opposition spokesman.

Another high-profile LNP minister, former attorney-general Jarrod Bleijie, has been demoted, taking over the police, fire, emergency services and corrective services opposition portfolio.

Mr Springborg's deputy, Surfers Paradise John-Paul Langbroek, was bumped up to treasury spokesman and will also cover the Commonwealth Games shadow ministry.

Burnett MP Stephen Bennett will be environment, heritage protection and national parks opposition spokesman.

The Whitsunday MP who narrowly retained the seat, Jason Costigan, has been rewarded with the role of shadow assistant minister assisting the Opposition Leader in North Queensland.

Another MP who scraped in by the skin of their teeth, Lockyer MP Ian Rickuss, will be whip.

Caloundra MP Mark McArdle is the new health opposition spokesman and Glasshouse MP Andrew Powell was handed the energy and water supply opposition portfolio.

After failing in her attempt to win the LNP leadership, Maroochydore MP Fiona Simpson will be local government and main roads, community recovery and resilience opposition spokeswoman.

While the man who was only beaten by Mr Springborg to the leadership by a few votes, Everton MP Tim Mander, will be education and training opposition spokesman.

The agriculture, fisheries and forestry opposition portfolio was given to Nanango MP Deb Frecklington.

Toowoomba South MP John McVeigh will be the science, information technology and innovation opposition spokesman.

Mansfield MP Ian Walker has moved from that portfolio to take over Mr Bleijie's as attorney-general and he will also be justice, industrial relations and arts opposition spokesman.

Indooroopilly MP Scott Emerson, Aspley MP Tracy Davis and Currumbin MP Jann Stuckey have kept their roles in transport, disability services and tourism, respectively.

Hinchinbrook MP Andrew Cripps will be natural resources and mines, state development and northern development opposition spokesman.

The housing and public works portfolio was taken on by Southport MP Rob Molhoek, Gold Coast MP Ray Stevens will be leader of opposition business.

Mount Ommaney MP Tarnya Smith has taken on Mr Elmes Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander portfolio.