Surprise Baby secured its spot in the Melbourne Cup with victory in The Bart Cummings. Picture: AAP
Surprise Baby secured its spot in the Melbourne Cup with victory in The Bart Cummings. Picture: AAP

Melbourne Cup: Who will make the cut?

THE Team Hayes-trained Constantinople has surged into favouritism for the Melbourne Cup after his eye-catching run in the Caulfield Cup.

The Irish import flashed home for fourth behind Mer De Glace at Caulfield Cup, which is regarded as the best form line heading into the big one at Flemington.

Mer De Glace's win secured an exemption into the Cup alongside Australian-trained stayers Surprise Baby and Steel Prince, who pocketed their golden ticket into the race with victories in The Bart Cummings and Andrew Ramsden Stakes respectively.

Stream over 50 sports live & anytime on your TV or favourite device with KAYO SPORTS. The biggest Aussie sports and the best from overseas. Just $25/month. No lock-in contract. Get your 14 day free trial


The order of entry provides punters, owners, trainers and jockeys with a ranking of where eligible horses are positioned before the final field of 24 is declared on November 2.




Note: As of October 21

1= MER DE GLACE Hisashi Shimizu 56kg (1kg penalty)

1= SURPRISE BABY Paul Preusker 53.5kg (1kg penalty)

1= STEEL PRINCE Anthony Freedman 52.5kg

4. CROSS COUNTER Charlie Appleby 57.5kg

5. AVILIUS James Cummings 57.5kg

6. MARMELO Hughie Morrison 56kg

7. HOMESMAN Liam Howley 56kg

8. MIRAGE DANCER Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 55.5kg

9. SOUTHERN FRANCE Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 55.5kg

10. CONSTANTINOPLE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 52.5kg

11. MASTER OF REALITY Joseph O'Brien 55.5kg

12. IL PARADISO Aidan O'Brien 52.5kg

13. LATROBE Joseph O'Brien 55kg

14. ANGEL OF TRUTH Gwenda Markwell 53.5kg

15. MUSTAJEER Kris Lees 55kg

16. ROSTROPOVICH David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 55kg

17. ISPOLINI Charlie Appleby 55kg

18. VERRY ELLEEGANT Chris Waller 52kg

19. MAGIC WAND Aidan O'Brien 53.5kg

20. HUNTING HORN Aidan O'Brien 55kg

21. TWILIGHT PAYMENT Joseph O'Brien 55kg

22. YUCATAN Liam Howley 54.5kg

23. FINCHE Chris Waller 54kg

24. MUNTAHAA David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 54kg

25. MR QUICKIE Phillip Stokes 52.5kg

26. RAYMOND TUSK Richard Hannon 54kg

27. SHRAAOH Chris Waller 53.5kg

28. VOW AND DECLARE Danny O'Brien 52kg

29. GLORY DAYS Bill Thurlow 52kg

30. BIG DUKE Kris Lees 53.5kg

31. YOUNGSTAR Chris Waller 52kg

32. NEUFBOSC David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 53.5kg

33. SOUND Michael Moroney 53.5kg

34. THE CHOSEN ONE Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 52kg (0.5kg penalty)

35. DOWNDRAFT Joseph O'Brien 53.5kg

36. PRINCE OF ARRAN Charlie Fellowes 53kg

37. KINGS WILL DREAM Chris Waller 53kg

38. PATRICK ERIN Chris Waller 53kg

39. TRUE SELF William Mullins 51.5kg

40. RAHEEN HOUSE William Haggas 53kg

41. SIR CHARLES ROAD Lance O'Sullivan & Andrew Scott 52.5kg

42. GALLIC CHIEFTAIN Archie Alexander 52.5kg

43. RED GALILEO Saeed Bin Suroor 52.5kg

44. DAL HARRAILD Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 52.5kg

45. GREY LION Matthew Smith 52.5kg

46. HAKY John Hammond 52kg

47. BRIMHAM ROCKS Chris Waller 51.5kg

48. ETYMOLOGY James Cummings 50.5kg

49. AZURO Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 50.5kg

50. HUSH WRITER Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 50kg

51. VALAC David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 50kg

52= SULLY Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 50kg

52= SUPERNOVA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 50kg

54. TOP OF THE RANGE Michael Moroney 50kg

55. WOLFE Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 50kg

56. ATTENTION RUN Kris Lees 50kg

57. HUMIDOR Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 56kg

58. RED CARDINAL Kris Lees 52.5kg

59= ALFARRIS David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 50kg

59= MASTER OF WINE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 50kg

59= WALL OF FIRE Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 50kg



The Melbourne Cup will be held on Tuesday, November 5 at Flemington Racecourse.


Gate opens at 8.30am.

First race begins at 11am and the last race is at 5.15pm.


The Melbourne Cup race begins at 2pm (AEST)