James Maloney blows up following Liam Martin's sin-binning.
James Maloney blows up following Liam Martin's sin-binning.

Maloney fumes at ref as Panthers cop rare double sin-binning

Penrith star James Maloney has blown up at referee Gerard Sutton following a sin-binning in his side's clash with the Warriors on Sunday.

Shortly before halftime, Panthers back-rower Liam Martin was given 10 minutes on the sideline after repeated infringements from the away team.

It was the Panthers' eighth penalty of the half.



Maloney raced over to give Sutton a gob-full where he was warned he'd also spend time in the sin bin for his outburst.

"You haven't spoken to me once, mate," Maloney fired at Sutton.

"You didn't speak to me. I'm the captain

"How come there's been no warning?"

Sutton replied: "I don't have to. You've got to improve your discipline."

Sutton was correct in that he didn't have to warn the Panthers.


James Maloney makes a case to referee Gerard Sutton.
James Maloney makes a case to referee Gerard Sutton.

NRL head of football Graham Annesley sent a reminder to the game's on-field officials in May that there was nothing in the rules that stated teams were entitled to be warned before a sin bin was issued.

"It was a soft penalty, but it was deserved," rugby league Immortal Mal Meninga told Fox League's Sunday Ticket.

"It was a dumb play by Martin. (Patrick) Herbert won the ruck so he deserved to get up and play the ball quick.

"The Warriors had momentum and Martin came in to put his hands on top just to slow the play-the-ball down. It's warranted a penalty."

The Warriors took advantage almost immediately with Bunty Afoa barging over to give his side the lead one again.

Maloney was back in the thick of it shortly after the break when Jerome Luai was also binned for a professional foul on Roger Tuivasa-Sheck which meant the Panthers were reduced to 11 men for a three-minute period.

Ken Maumalo had kicked in-field for Tuivasa-Sheck who fumbled the ball but managed to kick it ahead before Luai slightly grabbed his shoulder.

"I felt like the pocket ref was really strong in his opinion which meant the head ref had to go with it even though I don't think he thought… it's a big call," said coach Ivan Cleary after the game.

"Followed by another big call. We were definitely under the pump there. You can feel sorry for yourself and pack it in for the night and blame everyone else, but we didn't do that. We kept fighting and somehow won that game."

The Warriors again took advantage of the situation when David Fusitu'a dived over in the corner.

To compound the Panthers' woes, replays showed Fusitu'a's hand was over the sideline a split second before he grounded the ball.