Scott McLaughlin wrapped up his 10th win with victory at Winton Raceway.
Scott McLaughlin wrapped up his 10th win with victory at Winton Raceway.

McLaughlin sweeps round at Winton

ANOTHER race, another win for the series-dominating Scott McLaughlin.

The McLaughlin Mustang march continued as the Ford star romped to his 10th win of the Supercars season after sweeping the round at Winton Raceway on Sunday.

After starting on pole, McLaughlin wasn't threatened throughout the race as his teammate Fabian Coulthard came in second to give DJR Team Penske its sixth one-two finish for the season.

Only a late safety car - called 10 laps from the finish when Will Davison ran off the track - denied McLaughlin a runaway win after the field was condensed.

Seven-time Supercars champion Jamie Whincup claimed third for the Red Bull Holden Racing Team as he continued to fight to revive his season.

McLaughlin already has more race wins this season than he did for the entire year in 2018 (nine) en route to his maiden Supercars title - and there is still nine rounds to go.

The defending champion has again extended his championship lead over Coulthard from 232 points to 244, while Whincup moved up from sixth to fifth in the standings.

"It has been an amazing weekend, two wins for our team, a pole and a one-two,'' McLaughlin said.

Scott McLaughlin is a clear No.1. Picture: AAP
Scott McLaughlin is a clear No.1. Picture: AAP

"Great job by Fabs and the team to get up there, too. The cars were just ridiculously good and excited for the future and the rest of the year.


"We had a little kerfuffle yesterday and we got our butts kicked and we came back here today."

McLaughlin's victory came after a drama-filled win on Saturday when he tangled with Coulthard on lap one and raised eyebrows with an off-track short-cut that was deemed legal by officials.

Coulthard, who finished 15th on Saturday, said he needed to lift he he was to catch McLaughlin.

"He's fast, there is no two ways about it. I just have to lift my game,'' Coulthard said.

"But it's not easy. He's a class act, the race wins, the poles, he is on another scale."

Less than half-way through the Supercars season, McLaughlin is already on track for one of the most dominant seasons on record.

The Ford Mustangs are near untouchable.
The Ford Mustangs are near untouchable.

Only five other drivers in history have had more than 10 race wins in a season - Craig Lowndes, Whincup, Mark Skaife, Garth Tander and Marcos Ambrose. Lowndes holds the record for most race wins in a year with 16 (1996), which McLaughlin has plenty of time to catch.

Earlier, McLaughlin set a lap record to claim his ninth pole position of the season, shading the previous best qualifying lap set by Tickford Racing's Chaz Mostert in 2016.

It was McLaughlin's 56th career pole position and he is now only one away from equalling the late Holden great Peter Brock in second on the all-time list for poles. Whincup holds the record with 80.

It was a much cleaner start to the race after Saturday, but Mostert's race was cruelled after he ran off twice in the first two laps, pushing him to the back of the field, but he battled his way back to 10th.

Whincup's teammate Shane van Gisbergen remains the best placed Holden driver in the championship in third place after he finished seventh.