Craig Lowndes wins 2015 Bathurst 1000

CRAIG Lowndes has won the 2015 Bathurst 1000 ahead of Mark Winterbottom and Garth Tander.

The win gives him the most Bathurst 1000 podium finishes in the history of the race. 

In the end, the margin between Lowndes and Winterbottom was only 1.3 seconds - a strong win by Bathurst 1000 standards. 

The Harvey Norman Supergirls team made a miraculous comeback, completing their first Bathurst after another team's oil spill sent them into a wall early on in the race. 

The team worked on the car and had it fixed 2 laps before the 55-lap cut-off for a Did Not Finish classification.

Jamie Whincup's tilt at the podium fell apart after a late-race drive-through penalty when he overtook the safety car, claiming he had a green light to do so.