Captains’ choice is Freo’s Fyfe

THE votes are in, and the winner of the 2015 Brownlow Medal is ... Nat Fyfe.

They aren't the umpires' votes of course, the star Fremantle midfielder was the choice of four of the 18 AFL captains to win this year's top individual award.

The skippers were asked a range of questions, including which teams other than their own would make the top eight, which team other than their own would play in the grand final, and who would win the Brownlow, Coleman Medal and Rising Star.

Apart from Fyfe, who finished second last year but was ineligible after copping two separate two-game suspensions, dual winner Gary Ablett was nominated by three other captains to win his third 'Charlie', while Port

Adelaide's Travis Boak, Adelaide's Patrick Dangerfield and Geelong's Joel Selwood each received two votes.

Hawthorn is again expected to be the team to beat this season, with 11 other captains nominating the Hawks to play on that first Saturday in October.

Sydney (four) and Port Adelaide (three) were the only other selections.

Perhaps surprisingly, last year's Coleman Medal winner Lance Franklin wasn't the top choice to go back-to-back, with former Hawthorn teammate

Jarryd Roughead nominated by seven captains to kick the most goals in 2015.

Franklin was next with four, while Geelong's Tom Hawkins and Richmond's Jack Riewoldt picked up two.

The winner of the Rising Star award was less

clear-cut, with no less than 12 players rated a chance of glory.

Geelong speedster Nakia Cockatoo led the way with four votes, one ahead of Sydney's Isaac Heeney.